Home / Breaking / German Super Cup date revealed

German Super Cup date revealed

Niko Kovac will face former club Eintracht Frankfurt in his first competitive game in charge of Bayern Munich, when the reigning Bundesliga champions travel to the home of 2018 DFB Cup winners to contest the Supercup on 12 August (kick-off: 8.30PM CEST/ 7.30PM BST/ 2.30PM ET).

Bayern won their sixth successive Bundesliga title at a canter under Jupp Heynckes, but were outdone by their incoming coach in the final of the domestic cup, Frankfurt running out surprise 3-1 winners.

Kovac, who spent just under two-and-a-half seasons in charge of Frankfurt, officially joins Bayern at the start of July. The 46-year-old replaces the retired Heynckes on a three-year deal.

Bayern have won the Supercup a record six times, and are looking to become the first club to lift the trophy three times in a row after back-to-back triumphs over Borussia Dortmund in 2016 and 2017.

Frankfurt’s only Supercup appearance to date came in the 1988 edition, when the Eagles were beaten 2-0 by Werder Bremen.

The 2018 Supercup will also represent Adi Hütter‘s first competitive outing in the Frankfurt dugout. The former Young Boys coach was appointed Kovac’s successor in May.

Check Also

NO Bayern move for Pavard but Boateng heading to PSG

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge has ruled out a move for France’s World Cup winner Benjamin Pavard and left the …